I’ve started yoga!

Hi there!

I finally started yoga! For most people this may not be a big deal, but for me it almost feels like an accomplishment. I’ve wanted to do yoga for years but I could never “find the time” or I didn’t have the extra money. (I wanted to go to classes for proper instruction instead of self instruction at home). But here I am! DOING YOGA!

At this point, I’ve been to 3 classes and I am loving it. It is so relaxing to me, I leave class with a sense of peace. I’ve also realized that I am a lot stronger than I thought I was. I took a yoga class some years ago, and it kicked my ass! But, it was mostly focused on core/ab strength…and at that point, I wasn’t ready for that (lol).

I’d like to share some of the things I’ve gotten to help motivate and encourage myself to keep going to class. My studio has yoga mats, but I bought one because I thought it was a little gross to borrow one. This super cute mat is from Amazon! You can find it HERE. I loved the elephants! I also got a matching mat carrier HERE (It has the same grey and lime green color).

wp-image-246189786

I also got some new leggings. This was a challenge for me because I have a curvy shape and long legs. I usually have issues with leggings being see-through in the butt, or not long enough. I can’t stand for any kind of pants to graze my ankles (lol). The best fitting leggings I have found so far (at a reasonable price) were at oldnavy.com. I got a pair of plain black full-length and high-waisted leggings and a similar pair that have some mesh cutouts.

As you can see, they are long! I am so glad Old Navy caters to tall people! They are also nice and thick so when I bend over and stretch there aren’t any peep shows! The fabric is also flexible but it also keeps it’s shape and keeps everything taught and compressed! I also don’t have to worry about pulling my pants up every five minutes with these!

Along with my new leggings, I got a couple of Nike sports bras from Kohls. These are both in a size large. The straps and the band are adjustable so they are perfect for me! They were a little pricey ($55.00 per), but for the support and adjustable aspect…it was worth it for me.

I am super excited and looking forward to learning more about the practice, strengthening my body, and increasing my flexibility. Do you do yoga? Do you practice at home or in a studio? How long have you been practicing? What are your go-to brands for your athletic wear? Let me know in the comments below! Thank you so much for reading!

Shai ♥

 

8 Replies to “I’ve started yoga!”

Comments are closed.